From Dissociation to Awareness

I have had another great opportunity to be a guest blogger. This is a great blog discussing techniques to overcome C-PTSD.

C PTSD - A Way Out

A guest post by Elisabeth, who writes about her experiences as a trauma survivor at stolenchildhood.wordpress.com

Meditation

Dissociation was my defense mechanism of choice when I was young. The sexual, physical and emotional abuse started when I was only three years old, and I could not escape it, so I learned to leave my body entirely. At the time, it kept me sane. In adulthood, it wasn’t serving me, but I didn’t know that.

When I found yoga sixteen years ago, I was living my life in my mind. I did not realize that there was another way to live. I was so dissociated that the only moments I spent in my body were in yoga class, and honestly, I was pretty good at doing yoga without grounding myself (except for the balancing postures).

I first heard about healing meditation during a trip to an ashram. Honestly, before the trip, I…

View original post 609 more words

6 thoughts on “From Dissociation to Awareness

  1. An amazing post Elisabeth, your courage and resilence is amazing. I had very poor impressions of meditations at first also. I was always told to “tough it out.” When I told many of my friends and family members I was practicing mindful meditations to cope with some of the demons in my past, I was looked down upon.

    Like you, I have felt a world of difference since practicing my meditations. The feeling you get when your brain finally reconnects with your body is hard to put into words, but I can definitely feel growth of the soul and feel more concious during the present.

    Thank you for sharing your story so others can benefit from the struggles you’ve had.

    Like

  2. This posts has legs, keeps drawing viewers to my blog. You have touched people with this sharing of you.

    Giving will help heal you and sharing like this to others is excellent.

    Like

    • Thanks Marty. Views have been very high for the past three days because I wrote an article for Scary Mommy. It is probably those new readers looking at what I have written. I do think the topic is a good one. I am so glad to be able to help in this way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

